© Larry Norman Lyrics 2012
Home Discography Biography Gallery Contact Blog About Something New Under The Son
In 1977 Norman recorded Something New under the Son a blues-rock concept  album that some regard as his tour de force, and as "one of the roughest,  bluesiest, and best rock and roll albums of his career or the whole industry",  that took its title from "an ironic inversion of a phrase in Ecclesiastes", namely:  "there is nothing new under the sun" (Ecclesiastes 1:9b). While Norman  explicitly denied this album was autobiographical in the accompanying lyric  songbook, many years later some critics challenged this claim, arguing  "Norman was struggling through his own divorce and identity crisis at the  time". In 1999 Norman responded by arguing that when he completed the  album, he was happily married and that several of the songs were written before  he had met his wife. Norman indicated that the songs chronicled "Pilgrim's" journey into faith.  On this album Norman deliberately "took lots of musical & lyrical parts from old blues songs  and from Bob Dylan songs". Norman acknowledged a deliberate similarity between his  Something New Under the Son and Bob Dylan's 1965 album Bringing It All Back Home,  including a deliberate endeavor to replicate Bringing It All Back Home's iconic album cover  on the inner sleeve of the original Something New Under the Son LP album. Jesus Music  historian David Di Sabatino described the album as "Musically reminiscent of The Rolling  Stones' Exile on Main Street (1972) The album's artwork is an excellent attempt to parallel  Bob Dylan's Bringing It All Back Home (1966). "Nightmare #97" makes excellent use of  Stagger Lee intro (cf. "Bob Dylan's 115th Dream"). With the song "Let That Tape Keep  Rolling" Norman pays homage to Mick Jagger and Van Morrison.  Personnel  Larry Norman - Vocals, Guitars, Percussion, Piano, Harmonica, Saxophone  Jon Linn - Guitars and Flaming Fingers  Alex MacDougall - Drums  Peter Johnson - Drums  Dave Coy - Bass  Billy Batstone - Bass Tim Jaquette - Bass  Randy Stonehill and Tom Howard - loose strings and lost paperwork.